I, Daniel Blake

First off – this film isn’t one that I’d typically go to the cinema to watch. I normally prefer films detached from real life, and that’s generally why I like going to the cinema – you get the chance to forget everything that’s happening in the world, and to be entertained for a couple of hours.

And this film certainly doesn’t fit that category! However, after listening to a talk on our course about food poverty, in which the film was recommended, myself and a couple of friends from university decided to go and watch it. And actually, I feel like it’s something that everybody should see.

The film is set in the North of England, and is based on the life  of Daniel Blake, a man who is unable to go back to work whilst recovering from a major heart attack. It explores his fight against the benefit system and his friendship with a young single mum and her two children. Although touching and light-hearted at times, the film really highlights the struggle that some people face, and for me, definitely dispelled some myths about how the whole benefit system works.

I found the whole film quite emotional – some of the scenes were just heart-braking! Afterwards I felt like I really wanted to do something that could help, so some of our class are going to do a Food Bank donation soon, and whilst it won’t make a huge difference I suppose at least it’s something!

I would definitely recommend seeing this film if you get the chance. It’s not the most cheery, or high entertainment value film, but is something that’s actually really important…

*As always, if you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read don’t forget to follow my blog or subscribe using your email to stay up to date, and why not check out my other posts whilst you’re here too!*

Twitter and Instagram – gemm_xox
Email – gemmahappycorner@gmail.com

 

 

2 thoughts on “I, Daniel Blake

Leave a Reply

