Summer Cupcakes

This past week the UK has experienced actual, proper summer – can you believe it!? We’ve had blue skies, sunshine and heat for pretty much a full 7 days! Obviously in typical British style we started off completely unprepared for it, trying to concentrate in my boiling office was a nightmare and my bedroom was so hot at night that I could barely sleep, however after a bit of getting used to… We’ve managed to embrace it! 2 BBQs, sitting in the garden most evenings and having cocktails in beer gardens has been a welcome change from the dull weather we’re used to.

For a family BBQs that I went to I decided to bake some cupcakes to take with me to share out. However, instead of my usual trusty chocolate flavour I wanted something summery and fresh, and lemon sounded perfect. I also decided to make some vanilla flavour for anyone not keen on lemon!

These cupcakes are perfect for a summery picnic, BBQ or to eat with a cool drink in the garden. Or even with an afternoon coffee or tea when the weather inevitably cools down again, just as a reminder of this glorious sunshine! They take very little time and few ingredients, so are easy to throw together for a spontaneous event.

Ingredients:
3 eggs
250g self-raising flour
250g butter (softened)
250g caster sugar
1 lemon
2 tsps vanilla extract
125g icing sugar
1 tbsp warm water
Decorative edible flowers (optional!)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C
  2. Add the butter and sugar together and whisk
  3. Add in the eggs one at a time, whisking after each
  4. Add in flour in a ¼ at a time and whisk after each part
  5. Split the mixture into 2 bowls to make the 2 flavours (I did 2/3 into 1 bowl for the lemon cupcakes and 1/3 into the other for the vanilla cupcakes)
  6. Into one bowl add in the zest and juice of 1 lemon and mix it in
  7. In the second bowl add in 2 tsps of vanilla extract and mix it in
  8. Spoon the mixtures into cupcake cases – try and put them in an order so that you can remember which cupcakes are which flavour!
  9. Put into the oven for 20 mins or until a knife can be put in and come out clean
  10. Allow to completely cool
  11. Mix together the icing sugar and water, adding a little more of each to create your desired consistency, and spoon onto cakes
  12. Add the flowers onto the cakes as the icing is drying, I put yellow flowers on the lemon cakes and blue or pink flowers on the vanilla

Enjoy!

*As always, if you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read don’t forget to follow or subscribe by email to my blog to stay up to date, and why not check out my other posts whilst you’re here too!*

IMG_3108

 

49 thoughts on “Summer Cupcakes

  1. The weather has been fantastic for sure. You certainly have to make the most of it whilst it lasts! I love lemon cupcakes, I may try these out with the kids at the weekend!

    Lou

    Liked by 1 person

  2. [Hopped here from Table for 9] Well…highly visual me had to read this post, because those cupcakes made my mouth water. Yum! I also enjoyed reading how you are spending your summer. Personally, I’m glad you got to sit out in the back garden without getting drizzled on. I realize it rains a bit in the UK [ever been to Scotland], and there’s not much air flowing through the houses and flats. Yet, it’s such a lush part of the world…wet and sometimes brilliantly wild!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Veggie ‘Pasta’ – myhappycornerblog

  4. Yeah! I’m sure that I absolutely must try this recipe! I just need lemon and decorating flower…But I’m sure that the market would have one for it! I won’t leave this amazing recipe away! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful cupcake recipe. Here in south Brazil the winter is almost over and the weather is starting to get hot also. Well, I liked your comment on my blog so please let me know if you manage to find some brazilian wine in England. It will be very helpful for me. Enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Afternoon Tea | myhappycornerblog

Leave a Reply

