Easy Overnight Oats

Breakfast is supposed to be the most important meal of the day, and I personally can never miss it. I don’t really understand how people who skip breakfast aren’t hungry, it makes me feel physically sick if I don’t eat within half an hour of waking up. This makes going ‘out for breakfast’ a bit of a nightmare for me, I normally have a pre-breakfast beforehand if I have to go out to eat, then end up looking like a greedy piggy!

However, I do completely understand how people feel that they don’t have time for breakfast. Mornings are such a rush. There always seems to be so many things to do and so little time, and all whilst you’re still not yet functioning properly! I typically leave the house for work at 7:30am, and prefer to wait until as late as possible before getting up.

These overnight oats have become an absolute lifesaver for me! I make them the night before I want them so that it all soaks together, perfect to eat when I get up, meaning no messing or time wasting. It’s also filling and healthy, oats are known for keeping you feeling full for longer.

I’ve seen so many recipes for overnight oats, and really, you can do whatever you want with them. I like to keep mine fairly simple, but full of goodness. So give it a try, I promise it’ll make even a Monday morning a little bit better! And a top tip – use frozen blueberries, they’ll defrost on top of the oats overnight, whilst the rest keep for much longer in the freezer than a fresh pack will in the fridge!

Ingredients

Low fat Greek yoghurt
Rolled oats – the ones that are pure oat flakes with nothing added to them
Mixed nuts and seeds (I use walnuts, brazil nuts, cashews, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and chia seeds)
Blueberries

Method

  1. Put 2 tbsp of Greek yoghurt in the bottom of the bowl
  2. Add 45 grams of oats, and shake the bowl until the oats cover the top flatly
  3. Add another layer of yoghurt, making sure that the oats are all covered
  4. Put on the nuts, seeds and fruit
  5. Leave in the fridge overnight
  6. Mix before eating so that the oats are covered in yoghurt, and enjoy!

Let me know in the comments if you try this! And as ever, don’t forget to like the post and give myhappycornerblog a follow so you don’t miss out on my new posts!

Gemma xx

23 thoughts on “Easy Overnight Oats

  1. Overnight oats are a mystery to me! I make them in all sorts of varieties, I enjoy them, but you’ve taken a lovely photo of yours that makes them look amazing. I just seem to end up with a pile of mush that looks like baby food! (It is good mush though.)

    Other than the toppings, do you add anything to yours in the morning?

    Liked by 2 people

    • I actually don’t add anything in the morning, I put all of the toppings on before it goes in the fridge for the night. Then in the morning I just mix it all together (so it probably ends up looking like yours just before I eat it haha). Hope that helps 🙂

      Like

  2. Hy!
    You are right! Breakfast is very important! But for some of us…it’s just something what we have to somehow “deal with”…. I never been the hungry type in the morning …but I am starving after 2-3 hours. So I had to create a habit of Brunching 🙂 I guess we are different but we all have to try and eat healthy! 😉 Love the overnight idea! I will try it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love overnight oats! I use half of a frozen banana that’s been partially defrosted instead of greek yogurt. If you like the taste of bananas I love this option! I always buy the half price bananas that are turning brown, they taste the yummiest and I just throw them in the freezer (after peeling them) until I’m ready to use them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

