Father’s Day Chocolate Cake

I grab any excuse that I can to bake, and what better excuse than Father’s Day! I love making baked treats for celebrations, whether it’s a birthday cake, an afternoon tea creation, or just some yummy treats as part of my gift. In my family they always go down well, we all LOVE cakes, muffins, brownies, cheesecakes, crumbles – the list goes on! Home-made gifts also seem that bit more personal and show that you’ve put a little extra thought and effort into it. And let’s face it, it’s great news all round, dad can’t (or shouldn’t) eat a whole cake by himself!

I’m not the best cook in the world (slight understatement!) but this sort of chocolate cake is super easy to bake, takes no time at all and can be personalised for any occasion. I decorated it with a selection of my dad’s favourite chocolate – M&Ms, giant Buttons and Cadbury’s Dairy Milk Wholenut– but you can use whatever your favourite treats are. Similarly, you can use a chocolate based filling and topping if you prefer, I used buttercream because I had some pre-made that I needed to use up.

I find baking really fun, despite my temperamental oven which cooks everything in half the time it’s supposed to, meaning it can go from undercooked to burnt in a matter of minutes. Playing music whilst baking is a must for me, baking this cake I listened to Little Mix’s Get Weird album (which is SO good, maybe I’ll do another post on that!!). So put on some music, have a look at the recipe below and get baking!

Ingredients

3 eggs
200g self-raising flour
200g caster sugar
200g butter
1 1/2 tsp of baking powder
40g cocoa powder
Boiling water
Buttercream
Chocolaty treats (or sweets, biscuits, icing…)

Method

  1. Line two circular tins and pre-heat the oven to cook at 180 C
  2. Mix together the eggs, flour, sugar, butter and baking powder until smooth
  3. In a separate bowl, add boiling water a spoon at a time to the cocoa powder and mix until it creates a paste
  4. Add this to the cake batter and mix (if the consistency is too thick add a couple of spoons of water to the mixture)
  5. Spoon the mixture into the two tins
  6. Pop in the oven for 20 mins or until you can put a knife into the cake and it comes out with no mixture on
  7. Rest in the tins, and then take them out and place on a wire rack to cool
  8. Make sure the cakes are cooled and cover one cake in buttercream, then place the other cake on top
  9. Cover the whole of the top with buttercream and cover in your chocolate goodies!
  10. Serve and enjoy!
13 thoughts on “Father’s Day Chocolate Cake

  1. This looks like a plate of heaven!! Yum! I may have to try it, but under the watchful eye of my sister as she is by far the better cook. The only cook really…I’m useless!
    I have tried a few times but I just don’t seem to get into things when I’m in the kitchen.
    I’ll let you know if I manage it ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Veggie ‘Pasta’ – myhappycornerblog

  3. Pingback: Afternoon Tea | myhappycornerblog

Leave a Reply

